Subscribe to e-edition

Get the whole paper online! If you would like to register for an account, please fill out our Contact Form and select 'Request an e-subscription.'

Area runners set sights on Lincoln Marathon PDF E-mail

Several runners with a link to Hamilton County were in the field of 10,135 participants for Sunday’s Lincoln National Guard Marathon and Half-Marathon.
Edward Tabut of Coon Rapids, MN won the men’s marathon with a time of 2:17:07, while Emily Shertzer of Jonestown, PA finished first in the women’s race in 2:50:36.
Sammy Rotich of West DesMoines, Iowa crossed the line first in the men’s half-marathon with a time of 1:05:14. Bridget Easley of Lincoln defended her title in the women’s half-marathon, claiming gold with a time of 1:19:16.
This year’s event, which was the 37th annual race in Lincoln, included 8,876 finishers in the half-marathon, 3,296 men and 5,580 women). The marathon field featured 1,259 finishers, including 695 men and 564 women.
Competitors with local ties completing the 26.2-mile marathon and 13.1-mile half-marathon races, and their times:

Full marathon
Nicholas Owens, Aurora, 3:54:05; Jenny Beck, Hordville, 4:33:56; Zachariah High, Aurora, 4:33:57; Nathaniel High, Aurora, 4:50:33; Paul Cramer, Omaha, 5:02:46; Jeremy Hogan, Giltner, 5:38:16; Doris Gacke, Marquette, 5:54:41;

Dan Haden, Lincoln, 1:26:41; Cortney Johansen Driewer, Lincoln, 1:35.13; Nick Kauffman, Lincoln, 1:37.01; John Troester, Lincoln, 1:41.10; Logan Smolla, Giltner, 1:45:48; Charlene Friesen, Aurora, 1:48:41; Nathan Goertzen, Hampton, 1:48:13; Maggie Schneider, Aurora, 1:50:18; Michael Bergen, Aurora, 1:50:57; Todd DeVries, Aurora, 1:53:52; Wade Miller, Seward, 1:59.03; Paige Yockey, Aurora, 1:59:34; Mindy Moyer, Aurora, 2:00:26; Corrine Becklun, Aurora, 2:02:51; Brant Luebbe, Phillips, 2:03:11; Laura Sherwood, Aurora, 2:04;39; Kris Newquist, Aurora, 2:05:34; Kalyn Wiarda, Marquette, 2:08:55; Ryan Pickinpaugh, Aurora, 2:10:09; Andrew Ostdiek, Aurora, 2:11:16; Audrey Fox, Aurora, 2:12:28; Lindsay Pickinpaugh, Aurora, 2:13:19; Kylee Uden, Phillips, 2:16:11; Deborah Fahrnbruch, Aurora, 2:19:35; Amy Sjoholm, Aurora, 2:19:50; Lauren Eihusen, Phillips, 2:19:59; Kathy Eihusen, Phillips, 2:19:59; Kelsey Bergen, Aurora, 2:22:44; Carey McCoy, 2:24:01; Morgan Beck, Hordville, 2:29:03; Jerome Gacke, Marquette, 2:31:27; Dustin Fahrnbruch, Aurora, 2:38:46; Dan Beck, Hordville, 2:31:55; Sarah Carstensen, Aurora, 2:39:05; Doug Penner, Aurora, 2:40:41; Jody Ashby, Giltner, 2:42:52; Bruce Jensen, 2:46:33; Elliott Jensen, Aurora, 2:46:33; Allisha Ljunggren, Aurora, 2:52:52.
Editor’s note: If there are any other runners with ties to Hamilton County who competed and were not listed, please contact the News-Register.

To read more, see this week's print or e-editions

Want to get a copy of this week's News-Register? Click HERE to find out how!
RocketTheme Joomla Templates